Books

The Make-Up Test
(St. Martin’s Press, September 13, 2022)

One to Watch meets Beach Read in this romantic comedy about a twenty-something woman whose prestigious literature Ph.D. program becomes a battle of wits (and lit!) when she discovers that her college ex and biggest regret is now her rival TA for a once-in-a-lifetime research opportunity.

Preorder!

https://read.macmillan.com/lp/the-make-up-test/

Editorial Reviews

“Original, clever, sizzling, The Make-Up Test is the perfect mix of unique settings, lovable characters, and the exquisite agony of second chance romances. It’s the grad school, rivals-to-lover book of my wildest, sexiest dreams! I’ll read anything Jenny Howe writes!” –Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis

“Enemies-to-lovers, set in academia, with the pitfalls of imposter syndrome to navigate? Yes, please! A sweet, fresh spin on how the third time’s the charm.” —Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wish You Were Here

“Charmingly nerdtastic…a delightfully sweet second chance, rivals-to-lovers story wrapped up in a cardigan, sprinkled liberally with Beowulf and Chaucer references, and garnished with cat socks.” –Jen DeLuca, author of Well-MetWell-Played, and Well-Matched

“Heartfelt vulnerability wrapped in a sexy cardigan…The Make-Up Test is an A+.” —Denise Williams, author of How to Fail at Flirting and The Fastest Way to Fall

“This second-chance romance is cozier than one of Colin’s cardigans and lovelier than a crisp autumn day. I didn’t know how badly I needed a sexy Scrabble scene in my life, and now I know I’d have been incomplete without one! With clever writing that makes her grad school rivals simmer and spark on the page, Jenny Howe has crafted a love story that feels not just swoony and heart-stirring, but achingly, breathtakingly real.” –Rachel Lynn Solomon, bestselling author of The Ex-Talk and Weather Girl

The Make-Up Test has all of the emotions of the roller coaster that’s university life woven into its pages. The second-chance romance is a soothing balm to my heart, and the fat representation is exactly what I have longed to see in books. We need more stories like The Make-Up Test!” –Jesse Q. Sutanto, bestselling author of Dial A for Aunties

The Make-Up Test celebrates being who you are and staying true to yourself while also acknowledging that it’s incredibly hard when it seems like the world is working against you. A thoroughly enjoyable read from start to finish! A perfect companion read for fans of Ali Hazelwood and Rachel Lynn Solomon.” —Suzanne Park, author of So We Meet Again and Loathe at First Sight

“Full of deliciously biting banter, laugh-out-loud observation, and heartbreaking introspection…The Make-Up Test is a testament to the risks and rewards of lowering your drawbridge for the one you love. By my troth, if this second-chance debut isn’t on your TBR already, fie on you!” –Lillie Vale, author of The Shaadi Set-Up and The Decoy Girlfriend

“Insightful, inclusive, and incredibly fun, The Make-Up Test is an absolute delight from beginning to end. Jenny Howe is a romance writer to watch.” —Hannah Whitten, author of For the Wolf and For the Throne

“Deliciously clever, delightfully romantic, and wonderfully honest, The Make-Up Test is the academic romcom of my dreams. By the last page, I was desperate to read it all over again–and sign up for a classical literature class.” –Annette Christie, author of The Rehearsals

“An honest and heartfelt story that will wrap you up like a warm cardigan.” –Sonia Hartl, author of Heartbreak For Hire